Nom nom nom!

Red Cooked Pork (Hong Shao Rou)

Oh, what a delicious meal this turned out to be. Great texture and great flavours, easy to make as well! However, once again I had to compromise since I could not find pork belly which this recipe calls for. I used the pork meat I could find and it turned out to be too lean, argh!!! Seriously, if I happen to see a pig walking down the road I will most definitely strangle it and rip out the belly so I can make some proper Chinese food. I would also chop off the legs for the nice trotters. Perhaps I should build some sort of pig trap device, I am really getting desperate here.

Ok, back to the food. Start with boiling the meat in water for a couple of minutes, you want a warm grey piece of meat that smells disgusting. When it has cooled down a bit, cut into bite size pieces. Add rock sugar to hot oil, stir and let it melt and turn brown. Add the meat and the spices which are: spring onion, one star anise, ginger, cinnamon stick and dried chillies. Add water/chicken stock so that the meat is covered. Boil on medium heat under a lid for about 45 minutes, then remove the lid and turn up the heat to max and boil until the sauce thickens. This will take you a few minutes. Season with light soy sauce and sugar. Serve and enjoy bitches!

Leave a Reply

