Nom nom nom!

Fragrant Chicken and Pork Stock

Usually when I buy chicken I go for the entire bird, it is very inexpensive and you do not need much experience to cut out the breasts and legs. What I usually do with the other bits is make a chicken stock. The stock can be refrigerated for a couple of days and you can use it in soups and sauces, it really adds wonderful flavour to any dish.

This time around I also used some pork, basically the cheapest fattest bits I could find in the supermarket. The spices that I used were: fennel seeds, cinnamon, star anise, Szechuan pepper, ginger, spring onions and a Chinese dried mushroom (not in the picture). 

Put everything into a large pan, add water to cover and bring to boil. Add some soy sauce, salt and Chinese rice wine. Let the stuff boil at a low temperature for 2-3 hours, you might need to remove some of the froth that can gather on top of the stock.

After you are happy with your stock, just remove the meats and spices and strain the stock in a sieve or a chinoise.  I store my stock in glass jars. The bit on the top is fat, do not discard this as it is very tasty.

When you store the stock in the refrigerator it will turn in to a jelly, but as soon as you heat it will turn liquid again. My advice to you is: make some stock bitches!

Leave a Reply

